h1

Top 14 Video Game Quotes Of All Time

August 7, 2010

30 comments »

There are many games out there but not many manage to have quotes that will stick with you your whole life. Quotes are what makes games memorable. What you’ll find below is a comprehensive list that I’ve compiled with the funniest, poorly translated and most memorable quotes. Don’t forget to drop a comment, mentioning what your favourite quote is.

14. “Hadoken!” – Street Fighter II

Ryu from Street Fighter II on the Super Nintendo aka SNES. Battling with Ryu will allow you to hear the famous and overused Hadoken! Hadoken actually translates to Wave Motion Fist.

13. “One who knows nothing can understand…nothing.” – Kingdom Hearts

Ansem delivers this line quite brilliantly and even though Ansem does have various memorable quotes said through out Kingdom Hearts while you battle him (come open your heart, submit, all shall be), this takes the cake(but the cake was a lie).

12. “ZEUS! Your son has returned. I bring the destruction of Olympus!” – God of War III

What makes this quote really moving is how it’s delivered from Kratos’s character. You hear the anger and emotion in his voice while he speaks it. Yet many people say the line from God of War II is said better, yet I choose number 3’s.

11. “Hey! Listen!” – Zelda: Ocarina of Time

A very annoying quote this is. Imagine yourself trying to play Zelda and you’re thinking of how to solve a puzzle in the water temple, but then all you keep hearing is “HEY! HEY! Listen!”

10. “Do a barrel roll.” – Star Fox 64

This quote is pretty hilarious coming from Star Fox on the Nintendo 64. A plane doing a barrel roll….sounds foxy. Many songs have been released dedicated to this quote. Let’s all barrel roll to number 9.

9. “Do you know where I can find some sailors?” Ryo Hazuki – Shenmue

Not many people have played Shenmue on the Dreamcast but for the people who have will understand why this is on the list. Ryu Hazuki spends the first half of the game trying to gather information and what he mostly asks is “do you know where can find some sailors?” I remember myself being stuck in the game and asking the same question till 10pm game time, going back home and one of the family members tells me to stop being out so late at night. Gosh, I just wanted to know where the freaking sailors hang out! In the end, it turns out there’s a little passage that takes you to a bar.

8. “Its time to kick ass and chew bubble gum and I’m all out of gum.” – Duke Nukem

My name is Duke Nukem. A game that has numerous memorable badass quotes that still live on till this day. Always bet on Duke! Even though he has disappeared, but that doesn’t mean he will never make a come back. Anyway I’ve got no time to play with myself.

7. “Finish Him!” – Announcer, Mortal Kombat

After bringing your opponent’s health gauge to zero the announcer in Mortal Kombat will shout out Finish Him! No quote in a fighting game will ever overtake this very memorable quote. Maybe…..Fatality?

6. “Falcon Punch.” –  Captain Falcon, Super Mario Smash Bros

Falcon Pawnch! If this isn’t a memorable quote then what is? Once Super Mario Smash Bros was released, Youtube has been filled with videos dedicated to the Falcon Punch showing people being….Falcon punched. Thank you Captain Falcon.

5. “…But our princess is in another castle!” Super Mario

I remember myself being 6 years old when I played my first Mario game and each time I get to a castle, make Bowser fall in the pit of fire, the toad will always tell me the princess is in another castle! What is worse is if you zoom in onto the toad sprite, the bugger had his middle fingers in my face every time!

4. “The cake is a lie.” –  Portal

This was a triumph. I’m making a note here. Portal was a game filled with many memorable quotes but the most memorable in my opinion is “the cake is a lie.” I remember seeing it written on the wall near a corpse.

3. “Snake? Snake! Snnnnaaaaaaakkkke!” –  Metal Gear Solid

Snake are you there? Snake answer me! SNAKE? SNAAAAAAKKKKKEEEE?! My favourite game over screen and one of my favourite quotes ever! Every time Snake meets death in Metal Gear Solid, this very memorable quote will be said. What’s brilliant about it, is that it isn’t just said by one character, but depending on which character you’ve been talking to on the radio is the one to shout it out once you die.

2. “ALL YOUR BASE ARE BELONG TO US.” – Zero Wing (Arcade / Genesis)

IN A.D. 2101, grammar was ending. The game consists of numerous grammar mistakes as the Chinese didn’t to bother hiring a translator or an editor? Game is good, but grammar not good. I didn’t don’t know what I say.

1. “War. War has changed.” –  METAL GEAR SOLID: Guns of The Patriots

The first line spoken in MGS4 by Solid Snake. The way David Hayter delivers this line is truly epic. In the game Solid Snake speaks this line and continues to talk about why the war has changed & how technology has advanced. This quote is number 1 for me. What is yours?

Post a comment.

37 comments

  1. Do a Barrel Roll is my most memorable quote.


  2. “Insufficient funds!” – CnC – funny to say it when you’re broke and no one around understands (especially if they don’t speak english lol)


  3. You my friend deserve nothing but praise for this top 14

    number 1 had to be MGS either the one you got or the “I’m no hero..” quote

    kudos to you sir.


    • Thanks! Is that your favourite quote too?


  4. metal gear 3 clip: “you’ll cause a time paradox!”


  5. I thought nr. 1 was going to be “War. War never changes”


    • Man you’re so right…


  6. No “Would you kindly…” ?


    • hmm bioshock i still have fond memories of that game


  7. “I’m no hero, never was. I’m just an old killer hired to do some wet work”
    This quote I cannot forget.


  8. “Might controls everything. And without strength, you cannot protect. Let alone yourself.” Virgil to Dante…!!! Devil May Cry 3…!!!


  9. I think ” This is Snake” from MGS1
    and “I am what the gods have made me” from GoW2

    Sorry if I make some mistakes, english is not my first language


  10. I’m no hero, never was, never will be


  11. Here is mine.

    “War. War never changes. Since the dawn of human kind, when our ancestors first discovered the killing power of rock and bone, blood has been spilled in the name of everything, from God to justice to simple, psychotic rage.”

    Fallout 3


    • Love this one. I love it even more that this is how they ended the FNV too.


  12. Hello, my name is Andrew Ryan….

    The opening of BioShock isn’t just epic it’s muthfukin epic! How can that qoute not be in there! I choose the impossible, I choose Rap-tureeeee


  13. “Requiescat in pace…”- Ezio from Assassin’s Creed II

    “Desmond. Shut the f**k up. Please.”- Lucy from Assassin’s Creed II


  14. “I rejected these answers, I chose the impossible. I chose, Rapture.”

    that still chills my bones.


  15. ” i rode in a gang i left the gang after the gang left me ” – John Marston From Red dead redemption


  16. Great Article!

    MGS in there twice (and taking the top spot) – too good!


  17. the number 1 should have been ” Hello” from MGS4


  18. The quote “I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass and I’m all out of bubble gum” is originally from the movie “They Live”. So it doesn’t really belong on this list…


    • “come get some” should be though


  19. “I should have been the one to fill your dark soul with light!”

    “Construct additional pylons”

    “Ninja’s have kidnapped the president! Are you a bad enough dude to save him?”

    “A winner is you!”

    “You spoony bard!”

    “That was too close, you were almost a Jill sandwich.”

    “I AM ERROR”

    “It’s dangerous to go alone. Take this!”

    “Finish Him!”

    “It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.”

    “Do not pass go. Do not collect $200”


  20. Starcraft 1, Zerg. “SPAWN MORE OVERLORDS”


  21. AK-47 FOR EVERYYONE!!!!!!

    GENERAL


    • Can I have new shoes please…


  22. Our UAV is online!


  23. what? the classic quote from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night isnt listed?

    its when Dracula tells Rickter: “what is a man? A miserable little pile of secrets.”


  24. what a shitty list
    its just a bunch of memes


  25. “Would you kindly…”

    And all it inspires.

    I totally agree with the number one, Old Snakes introduction to Guns of the Patriots has to be one of the most stirring moments in video game history. If it was a movie (which it almost was in some respect) it would have earned Hayter an Oscar nomination – fact!


  26. […] Top 14 Video Game Quotes Of All Time There are many games out there but not many manage to have quotes that will stick with you your whole life. Quotes are […] […]


  27. Good day! Thanks for sharing. I will bookmark your website.


  28. Thank you very much my friend, you are very kind in sharing this useful information with? others…. The details were such a blessing, thanks.


  29. ur #1 quote contradicts the fallout seris opening and closing lines


  30. “THIS IS SPARTA!!” If there was a 300 game (is there?), this would be it.

    or “His power level…it’s over 9000!” if you played dbz budokai

    or “It’s super effective!” from any pokemon game


  31. MGS Is trolling Fallout



Leave a Reply

